The Maryland Community is proud to host the seventh Award for Aspirations in Computing in 2018-2019. Award recipients were selected for their aptitude and interest in IT and computing, solid leadership ability, community service and learning outside of school, good academic history, and plans for post-secondary education.

CONGRATULATIONS to all of our 2019 National Winner, National Honorable Mentions, Maryland Winners, Maryland Honorable Mentions, and Maryland Rising Stars! Yes, the names of our reward levels have changed this year! You should be very proud of your accomplishments. Our Honorable Mention category is for applicants who do not quite qualify for Winner, but are more accomplished than Rising Stars. Starting in 2019, you can win again! Any applicant who qualifies for the Winner level for second, third, or fourth time, will be awarded the Winner Emerita award, to celebrate her continued dedication to computing.

AWARD CEREMONY: Both winners and honorable mentions are invited, along with 2 guests, to our award ceremony on 4/7/19 at University of Maryland College Park, which will include a workshop to learn new computing skills. Please RSVP once you receive the invitation via email in February. We hope in 2020 to have enough space at our venue to be able to invite Rising Stars as well.

STUDENTS: We encourage women in grades 9-12 to apply by the November deadline every year! You can't win if you don't apply -- don't take yourself out of the running before you even try! If you have previously won, you are still eligible to win a national award, and are now eligible to win again in Maryland. If you have not yet won in Maryland, you still can win if you apply!

EDUCATORS: If you are a computing educator, please encourage your students to consider applying for the award, and also apply for the educator award yourself!

FACEBOOK: All applicants can request to join our Facebook community for Maryland Aspirations. Use the Facebook group to connect with other applicants from the Maryland area, and to share opportunities.

We are very proud of our six prior Educator Award winners: Olukayode Banmeke of Duval High School (2018), Kimberly Burton-Regulski of Eastern Technical High School (2017), Amanda Lattimore of Dulaney High School (2016), Michael Price of Springbook High School (2015), Daniel Fowler of Montgomery Blair High School (2014), and Bethany Petr of Thomas S. Wootton High School (2013). We are also proud of our Educator Honorable Mentions, Andrea Robertson of Wheaton High School (2018), and Stephen Sell of Clarksburg High School (2017).

Please contact with any questions about the Maryland community. (Note: Prior to 2017, we were the Maryland and Delaware affiliate. The Delaware affiliate is now separate.)

2014 Award Ceremony Pictures
2015 Award Ceremony Pictures
2016 Award Ceremony Pictures
2017 Award Ceremony Pictures
2018 Award Ceremony Pictures