Tennessee: Central and East

The Department of Computer Science at Tennessee Tech University is proud to host the Central and East Tennessee Award for Aspirations in Computing. Award recipients are selected for their aptitude and interest in IT and computing, solid leadership ability, good academic history, and plans for post-secondary education.

For information about the NCWIT Aspirations in Computing program please visit www.aspirations.org.

Please contact mjkosa@tntech.edu with any questions about the Central and East Tennessee Affiliate of the Aspirations Award.

Each qualified award winner and honorable mention will receive a variety of prizes and 2 plaques – 1 for the winner and 1 for her school.

The 2019 Central and Tennessee Affiliate Review and Selection Committee selected the following young women as Winners and Honorable Mentions for the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing - Central and East Tennessee Affiliate.

Mrunali Amrutkar
Miracle Awonuga
Maggie Bevins
Astra Burke
Reese Graves
Monasia-Sherryea Headley
Nayara Martinez
Mohini Misra
Amelie Nagle
Jessica Pitz
Alex Shanafield
Sofia Tomov
Jillian Wheeler

Honorable Mentions:
Ari Avant
Meredith Bevill
Khamiyah Brown
Princess Duncan
Jina Jiang
Aarushi Modi
Rosalia Otaduy-Ramirez
Astha Sinha
Emery Smith
Julia Steed
Amarachi Waboso
Isabelle Wang

On March 23, 2019, we will recognize Aspirations Award winners and honorable mentions for the Central and East Tennessee community for their accomplishments and aspirations during an award ceremony at the Millard Oakley STEM Center on the Tennessee Tech campus in Cookeville, Tennessee. The address is 155 West 7th Street.

Proposed Event Agenda

1:00 -1:30 Check in Award Recipients & Guests
1:30 -1:45Welcome Tennessee Tech Representatives
1:45 -2:15 Keynote Marla Lamont, HCA and Women in Technology in Tennessee
2:15 - 3:00 Activities & Refreshments STEM Smorgasbord
Savories and Sweets
3:00 - 3:45 Award Presentations Edie Cheng, NCWIT
Martha Kosa
3:45 Photo Session