Missouri: Eastern Missouri & Southern Illinois

Above photo shows the 2016 St. Louis Winners and Runner Up Awardees.

The St. Louis & Southern Illinois Community is proud to host the St. Louis Award for Aspirations in Computing. Award recipients are selected for their aptitude and interest in IT and computing, solid leadership ability, good academic history, and plans for post-secondary education. We encourage women in grades 9-12 to apply. All applications are reviewed by national reviewers and a local selection committee to determine which applicants are winners and which are runners-up.

We are excited to announce that the 2020 Aspirations Award ceremony will be held
Sunday, April 5th on campus at Saint Louis University.

Congratulations to our 2020 St. Louis & Southern Illinois Aspirations Award Recipients:

2020 National Collegiate Awardee:
Yasmin Kassim - University of Missouri - Columbia

2020 Winners:
Akruti Joshi - Hazelwood West High School
Alice Le - Rolla Senior High School
Allison Drainer - South High School
Anjali Kumar - Parkway West High School
Anna Nguyen - Hazelwood West High School
Anna Tetreault - Webster Groves High School
Brianna Roller - Hazelwood West High School
Cindy Wang - Ladue Horton Watkins High School
Emma Scott - Visitation Academy
Gabriella Miesner - Cor Jesu Academy
Grace Delgado - Fox High School
Justine Gacho - Lindbergh Senior High School
Kaitlyn Chan - Marquette Senior High School
Kiara Sites - Hazelwood West High School
Marina Sha - Ladue Horton Watkins High School
Meagan Murray - Hazelwood West High School
Mia Hines - Home-schooled
Rebecca Rushman - Fox High School
Ria Mirchandani - John Burroughs School
Samantha Doepker - Washington High School
Siddhi Narayan - Clayton High School
Siddhika Naik - Farmington Senior High School
Sophie Maniscalco - St. Joseph's Academy
Sriya Kosaraju - Marquette Senior High School
Sydney Clark - Fox High School
Sydney Hilker - St. Joseph's Academy
Teni Toriola - Lafayette Senior High School

2020 Honorable Mentions:
Elizabeth Edmunds - Ursuline Academy
Emma Rohrs - Webster Groves High School
Johanna Jachna - St. Joseph's Academy
Scarlett Patton - Webster Groves High School
Yukta Gadireddy - Parkway South High School

2020 Rising Stars:
Bella Ott - Ursuline Academy
Jasmine Nguyen - Lift for Life Academy
Kabriolei Julion - Confluence Preparatory Academy
Mallory Kimes - St. Joseph's Academy
Margaret Nigh - Lindbergh Senior High School
Taylor Davis - Mascoutah High School

2020 Educator Awardees:
Elizabeth Dierker - Winner
Tyson Sigette - Winner

2016 Winners List:
Reagan Becnel - Ursuline Academy (Missouri)
Maura Floretta - Ursuline Academy (Missouri)
Keturah Gadson - Pattonville High School
Anna Huisinga - Kirkwood Sr. High
Vernesha Jackson - Grand Center Arts Academy
Caeley Kates - Ursuline Academy (Missouri)
Alexis Macaskill - Mary Institute & St Louis Country Day School
Julia Romero - Lafayette Sr. High School
Rachael Sherman - Columbia-Hickman High School
Jessica Thoelke - Ladue Horton Watkins High School

2016 Runner-Up Awardees:
Megan Cash - Washington High
Rose Coughlin - Ladue Horton Watkins High School
Claire Fuesting - Edwardsville High School
Allison Golomski - Ursuline Academy (Missouri)
Marguerite Goodrow - Ladue Horton Watkins High School
Leila Hodge - South Technical
Skylar Howe - Kirkwood Sr. High
Natalie Jenkins - Lindbergh Senior High School
Kira Kelsay - Maplewood-Richmond Heights High School
Ali McCormick - Lafayette Sr. High
Melissa Simpson - Ursuline Academy (Missouri)
Sarah Stannard - Rock Bridge Sr. High
Amanda Steiner - Ladue Horton Watkins High School
Ziye Xu - Edwardsville High School

News Articles about the Awardees:
Spotlight on Ladue Schools article: http://www.ladueschools.net/spotlight/2016/01/13/senior-wins-computing-a...

Article about Ursuline Winners from Town & Style Magazine: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10467241/FullSizeRender.jpg

2015 Winner List and Event Information:

Educator of the Year: Connie Lutz, Washington High School

Michelle Algya - Heritage Academy of Columbia
Mary Ann Cahoon - Webster Groves High
Savannah Collins - Wentzville Holt High School
Danielle Crivello - Grand Center Arts Academy
Rowan Faulkner - Ladue Horton Watkins High School
Madi Feldman - Triad High School (Illinois)
Heather Graham - Home Schooled*
Olivia Long - John Burroughs School
Katherine Pitz - Kirkwood Sr. High
Courtney Rubright - Washington High
Kimberlee Shaw - Webster Groves High
Elana Stettin - John Burroughs School
Lauren White - O Fallon High School
Heather Witte - Orchard Farm Sr. High
Kalekidan Yeshiwas - Pattonville Sr. High

Adriana Bradford - Hancock Sr. High
Claire Heinrich - Washington High School
Vernesha Jackson - Grand Center Arts Academy
Allyssa Johnson - Columbia Area Career Ctr.
Katherine Lydon - Rock Bridge Sr. High
Brianna Roseman - Edwardsville High School
Jessica Thoelke - Ladue Horton Watkins High School
YiFan Zhou - Ladue Horton Watkins High School

The 2015 Event was held on Sunday, March 8, 2015 from 2:00-4:00pm at the Millennium Student Center (Century Rooms A&B on the top floor) at the University of Missouri - St. Louis. Dress for the event is business casual.

Check out the 2015 Program here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10467241/St.%20Louis%20Program%20201...

News Coverage about the 2015 Event:

Article about the Winner who were Girl Scouts:

Article from Kirkwood High School about Katie Pitz: http://www.kirkwoodschools.org/pages/Kirkwood_School_District/News/KHS_J...

Ladue Schools Newsletter:

The Missourian Article on Students:

The Missourian Article about Educator:
http://www.emissourian.com/whs-math-teacher-recognized/article_c5f251bb-... and http://www.emissourian.com/local_news/washington/lutz-receives-aspiratio...

Please contact Rebecca Dohrman at dohrman@ncwit.org to RSVP for the award ceremony or with any questions about the St. Louis & Southern Illinois community regional program.


History of St. Louis and Southern Illinois Affiliate: In 2013, St. Louis students were invited to compete in the Missouri/Kansas Regional Award for Aspirations. The 2013 event was held at UMKC in Kansas City. In 2014, local St. Louis residents decided to host our own St. Louis event. The Inaugural St. Louis Award for Aspirations ceremony was held on the afternoon of Saturday, March 8th, 2014 (International Women's Day) at the University of Missouri-St. Louis campus in the Millennium Center from 1-4pm. The program for the 2014 event is available here: http://bit.ly/1kghBxv

2014 Event Information:

Here is a list of the 2014 winners and runners-up:

Katherine Hufker - Lindbergh Sr. High - Winner
Bianca McKenna - Parkway Central High School - Winner
Shayla O'Donnell - Rosati-Kain High School - Winner
Addison Ogonoski - John Burroughs School - Winner
Katie Repko - Rockwood Summit Sr. High - Winner
Alexandra Bess - Kirkwood High School Runner-Up
Salena Pottebaum - Washington High - Runner-Up
Laurel Button - MICDS - National Winner

The University of Missouri - St. Louis offered a $1,000 scholarship to any of the winners who decide to attend UMSL and select Information Systems as their major! This is a generous and wonderful offer from UMSL and we are thrilled to offer it to the winners of this year's award!

Monsanto, UMSL, Thomson Reuters, Spry Digital served as the 2014 sponsors for this event. The Girl Scouts of Eastern Missouri, Centric Group, and Mastercard provided support for the 2014 event, too. We offer a special thanks to these inaugural sponsors! Without them, this award ceremony would not be possible!

News Coverage about the 2014 Event:
- E-Missourian Article about our Educator of the Year: http://bit.ly/RVsH1B
- Rosati-Kain Article about their Winner: Shayla O'Donnell: http://bit.ly/QIMnF6
- NCWIT Blog Post about 2014 Event: http://bit.ly/QPbHJl